Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#545 new enhancement

Way to easily disable shares/new downloads

Reported by: joss@… Owned by: quinox
Priority: normal Milestone: Release 1.3.0
Component: nicotine Version: 1.2.14
Keywords: Cc: azeure@…

Description

Original report: Debian #566786 by Adam C. Emerson.

It would be nice if I could disable sharing. I'd like to be able to let all current uploads finish and THEN close nicotine without any new uploads being started. It seems more polite than closing the program with someone's download half-finished.

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by anonymous

it sounds like a nice feature, but requires a lot of work...

We need to introduce a new mode, it has to be visually obvious to users in what mode you are; This mode should not respond to search requests - but how about browse requests? You're online, so ignoring those is awfully rude.

Also people can always queue more files (old search result, old browse request, etc.) - what to do? Allowing them to do so would mean you have to wait even longer before you can go offline, telling them they are banned gives the wrong signal (since they're not banned), not responding at all violates proper behaviour.

Both the amount of work involved and the questions raised are problematic - I'm not completely against the idea though (any takers?)

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by diaspar

Well, maybe mode that lets nicotine finish currently uploading file, not queued files. And at the same time wont start new uploads (if multiple uploads at time is allowed by user).

But I personally think there are more important bugs open, than this nice-to-have feature.

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by gfarmerfr

Milestone: Release 1.2.15Release 1.3.0
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.