Opened 10 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#446 new task

Constant disconnects and then can't upload

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: quinox
Priority: normal Milestone: Release 1.3.0
Component: nicotine Version: 1.2.12
Keywords: Cc:

Description

I've used 1.2.10 with very little hassle but 1.2.12 is causing serious issues trying to upload. I'm on Vista. After people queue up items, they tend to begin the upload fine. But after only a couple minutes, they pretty much always end up disconnecting and giving the "cannot connect" message or something similar. And after that, it will not upload anymore. I keep 3 slots going. After 3 people get the "cannot connect" message, it doesn't go on to the next person in the queue -- it just sits there. Nothing will happen. My email is destinsurf@…. Feel free to contact me.

Attachments (1)

nicotine_transfers.png (92.7 KB) - added by anonymous 10 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by destinsurf@…

Feel free t contact me.

Changed 10 years ago by anonymous

Attachment: nicotine_transfers.png added

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by alex

I had similar problems on my Slackware Linux machine with Nicotine 1.2.12. I tried SVN r1134 and most of the uploads now start correctly. There are still some upload issues though:

  1. Some uploads simply fail with no apparent reason (with "cannot connect" or "connection closed by peer" message). It is especially strange when it happens with uploads to one user - at first some files are uploaded correctly, and later the rest of transfers fail even though there were no problems before.
  1. When situation described in 1. happens, the upload slot is still blocked by that failed upload and the queue does not advance.
  1. Sometimes the maximum upload speed limit is not being respected. It often (but not always) happens when one upload finishes and another upload starts. Going to Edit -> Settings -> Transfers and clicking on the "Apply" button makes Nicotine+ respect the speed limit once again.
  1. In case when a failed upload is restarted automatically, a new entry is spawned in the uploads window (see screenshot). After the upload ends, one of those antries are "Finished" and others are "Aborted", "Cannot connect" and such. Clicking "Clear finished / aborted" does not remove any of those entries from list.

I'm behind a router, but my soulseek port is forwarded and accessible (nmap scan from a remote machine confirms that). Problems 1. and 2. can be "fixed" by reconnecting to Soulseek server, but only temporarily.

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by gfarmerfr

Milestone: Release 1.3.0
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.