Opened 10 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#346 new defect

queued, paused, filtered, aborted status needs improvement

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: quinox
Priority: minor Milestone: Release 1.3.0
Component: nicotine Version: 1.2.10
Keywords: Cc:

Description

Maybe this is just personal preference, and others use status differently, so my assumptions, for clarity:

  • if I decide not to download, I will abort.
  • if I have not aborted, I am still interested in downloading.

I find some issues:

  • if files are aborted, and you quit before clearing them, they return in status 'paused', which cannot be manually set, and is only useful for the menu item "clear paused", which has the effect of clearing files you aborted in some previous session.
  • there is a big button, and a small menu item between more useful ones for "clear queued", which I never want.
  • it appears that "filtered" is completely synonymous with "aborted" and "paused". it is just the status for files which have been automatically aborted based on preexisting criteria.

I would suggest:

  • allow manually pausing downloads. these are files I might still want to download (until I abort them), but not right now.
  • also add a setting to start new downloads in paused status. Often I will use "download containing folder", and some stuff I dont want starts to download. currently there is just a sanity check for downloading too big directories, but I would (sometimes) rather take a look at what is queued before I start downloading. Also I sometimes use "download containing" even though I only want a few of the files, because it is the most convenient way to queue them sometimes.
  • remove "clear queued" functions. it is basically just a way to clear out the queue entirely, and that is easy enough to accomplish.
  • add filtered files in "aborted" state, or (optionally) dont add them at all. I only filter stuff I never want, but maybe some filter stuff they sometimes want.
  • do not change "aborted" to "paused" on program restart.

interested in what others think about this, these changes would really help usability for me.

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by anonymous

eh

  • sorry if you cant read that...

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by quinox

it came through just fine by email :)

good points, the filtered will probably be removed altogether, I'll take a look at the other stuff

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by anonymous

thanks for taking note.

similarly, I dont see any need for a big "clear all" button in the wishlist window. I clear each item when Im done with it, and the usual sorts of multi-selection can be used in the list, so "removing all" is a special case that is easy to accomplish, so no special button needed. I would be somewhat irked if my wishlist items were lost though...

missed one more such bomb on the dl tab, the "clear" entry in the popup, also placed between 2 other entries. if anything it should go in the "clear groups" submenu, as I cant imagine it is more frequently used than any of those options.

I am interested to know if anyone finds these to be essential interface elements.

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by gfarmerfr

Milestone: Release 1.2.11Release 1.3.0
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.